my journey with truth

July 26, 1997

Posted on: April 25, 2012

Dear Beatrice,
Summer is almost over.  I have 17 days until school starts.  For vacation we went to New York City.  On the way we went to Kentucky and Indiana.  Kentucky was really depressing.  I kinda worry about all those aunts and uncles.  The boys are really cute.  They keep getting older and older.  Sam was much better.  Alex is into Shaq, and Daniel will do anything for Alex.  Then we went to Philadelphia and saw Bryn Mawr, Swarthmore, and Princeton.  At Swarthmore we saw Jimmy Bach.  He and his wife Ruth are so nice.  I really liked their wedding in Virginia two years ago.  I remember Jimmy talking to me then.  I was sitting in a chair and he knelt down and started talking to me at the hotel where they had the dinner.  It was so nice because he was so busy, but he still stopped to talk to me.  Then we went to New York.  I <3’d it.  The subway was awesome.  We went to the Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Central Park, Time Square, Rockefeller Plaza, and had a lot of FUN!  I was Molly in the choir musical and had so much fun.  I think I performed very well.  At Six Flags over Texas I had so much fun!  I went on 3 rollercoasters 6 times.  I went on the Bobsled, 2 on the Runaway Mountain, and 3 on the Runaway Minetrain.  Plus the logride and Sombrero.  I have to go to bed but I PROMISE to write tomorrow.

Lizzie [there’s also a sticker with a cat on it…]

Just for clarification’s sake, when I say “the boys are cute,” I’m talking about my cousins in the “awwwwww, what a cutie shmoodgey woodgey” kind of way.  I’m not saying the boys in Kentucky are cute.  Or that my cousins are that kind of cute.  Though I can see how you might get confused as it is Kentucky after all.  And I’m sure there are cute boys in Kentucky.  Whatever.

It’s been a while since I’ve jumped back into 7th-ish grade Lizzie, and it’s always funny to me how helter-skelter she is.  Homegirl needs to learn how to start a new paragraph.

Also, if you know anything about Six Flags Over Texas in Dallas, you know that the 3 “rollercoasters” I name are pretty much the tamest in existence, hardly count as rollercoasters.  I have since then been on real rollercoasters and enjoyed them.  That being said, it’s been a really long time since I’ve been on a rollercoaster.  Like maybe 10 years.  Ohmygosh I have to end this post now and go figure out just what in the world I’ve been doing with my life for 10 years.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • myjourneywithtruth: i had it in my office at my internship in Corpus Christi two summers ago. ellen davis is brilliant and glows with an aura of holy.
  • amy h: i love this quote. i think i may need it hanging on my wall where i'll see it daily. perhaps in front of the toilet? by the door? bedside table? i'll
  • chaz: That post made me really sad too. Mostly because I want to take young Lizzie by the shoulders and shake her (gently?) into sublime realization that sh

Categories

