my journey with truth

Sometimes I think bad things about people. Today is one of those days.

I think one person is self-centered.  I think another person is condescending and totally enjoys power trips.  I think another person doesn’t ever do their job.  I think 3 people did something really stupid and inappropriate today and am super miffed about it.  I think boys in general are stupid for not wanting to bombard me with affection all the time, much less today.  I think another person thinks everything is on their time.  I think I get tired of certain people whining.  I think that other person can’t see the forest for the trees and is making me feel bad about it.  And then this ONE person… don’t get me started.

Part of me wants to go up to each person and say exactly what I think each is doing and why it is crummy and makes other people feel crummy.  But mostly I just feel crummy for thinking bad things about people.  Because mostly I really like people.  And want them to like me, too, just for being a person.  And I want to be what Ellen Davis considers wise, which has little to do with knowledge or book-learning and probably doesn’t feel this crummy.

“I will be wise when my greed is gone… I will be wise when my compassion is pure.  When a piece of gossip dies of neglect in my mind and no word of searing criticism springs to my lips; when I earnestly desire the healing of my persecutor, not her humiliation; when I feel pure joy at the blessing another enjoys… I will be wise when my love is constant… I will be wise when I hunger and thirst for righteousness, when I truly see my talents, energies, and resources as God sees them: as means not to secure my own position but to strengthen the weak, comfort the downcast, empower those whose lives mine touches.  When what I desire in all and above all else is the company of God, the coming of Christ, the comfort of the Holy Spirit, then I will be wise,” (Ellen F. Davis, Getting Involved with God: Rediscovering the Old Testament, p. 151).

Sorry for thinking bad things about people.

2 Responses to "Grr."

i love this quote. i think i may need it hanging on my wall where i’ll see it daily. perhaps in front of the toilet? by the door? bedside table? i’ll get back to you on where it ends up.

thanks for sharing. i think we all have those days/people in our lives, it’s just that most of us aren’t brave enough to admit it.

i had it in my office at my internship in Corpus Christi two summers ago. ellen davis is brilliant and glows with an aura of holy.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • myjourneywithtruth: i had it in my office at my internship in Corpus Christi two summers ago. ellen davis is brilliant and glows with an aura of holy.
  • amy h: i love this quote. i think i may need it hanging on my wall where i'll see it daily. perhaps in front of the toilet? by the door? bedside table? i'll
  • chaz: That post made me really sad too. Mostly because I want to take young Lizzie by the shoulders and shake her (gently?) into sublime realization that sh

Categories

