my journey with truth

Jan. 5, 1997

Posted on: September 5, 2010

Dear Diary,
I’ve decided that I need to give you a name.  Right now I like Emma Thompson, that plays Beatrice in Much Ado About Nothing.  So you are now Beatrice.  Happy New Year!  Tomorrow we start school.  It is also the day of Epiphany.  I’m really worried about my Report Card.  I didn’t get it in the mail.  Right now I’m listing [listening… fail] to All-4-One – “These Arms” on my Discman.  I think it is a really good song.  I don’t want to go to school the day after tomorrow because 2nd period I’ll have to go to P.E.  I’m going to keep track of all of my favorite stuff in you for the whole year.  Right now my favorite movie is Much Ado About Nothing, song – “These Arms,” boy – Blake Cash, class – band, food – coffee ice-cream, friend – Rachel Ramsey, t.v. show – Sabrina the Teen-aged Witch, and fav. book – Lioness Rampant.  Right now I’m on my way to youth group.  I wonder if Kelly will come.  She has alot of her family here right now.  I’ve got to go.  I’ll write you tomorrow about how school was.

P.S.                                                                                  See ya,
Hi!!                                                                                  Lizzie

First of all, I can’t even remember how “These Arms” goes.  Not one bit.

Second of all, you can tell how extremely cool I was in middle school: my favorite class was band, my favorite movie is a production of one of Shakespeare’s comedies, and I referred to my CD player by brand as ‘my Discman.’

Third, Blake Cash is not my favorite boy anymore; Kenneth Branagh’s Much Ado About Nothing is still one of my favorite movies.  If you didn’t know, Shakespeare is kind of a big deal.  Lots of people find him talented.  Also, the film features Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Denzel Washington, Keanu Reeves, and Robert Sean Leonard and Kate Beckinsale (neither of whom was a big deal at the time, thought RSL had already appeared in Dead Poet’s Society and many of you will know him from the TV show House).  Depending on how much BBC/PBS one watches, you may also recognize Richard Briers and Phyllida Law, and everyone should know Imelda Staunton for her appearance as Dolores Umbridge in the HP films at least, if not as Charlotte in Sense and Sensibility (also with Emma Thompson).  But more than that, this play contains the most extraordinary way I’ve ever heard someone say “I love you.”  Good.  Job.  Shakespeare.

See, Beatrice and Benedick sort of hate each other at the beginning, and their friends resolve to help them fall in love with each other.  Lots of little scenarios play out to make their feelings shift – hilarious and touching in nature.  But then at the point that Claudio, Benedick’s friend, has rejected Hero, Beatrice’s cousin, on the day of their wedding because he’s been tricked by the evil Don John into thinking Hero has been unfaithful to him, Beatrice goes into a chapel to pray, totally distraught over the situation.  Here’s what they say to one another:

BENEDICK

Lady Beatrice, have you wept all this while?

BEATRICE

Yea, and I will weep a while longer.

BENEDICK

I will not desire that.

BEATRICE

You have no reason; I do it freely.

BENEDICK

Surely I do believe your fair cousin is wronged.

BEATRICE

Ah, how much might the man deserve of me that would right her!

BENEDICK

Is there any way to show such friendship?

BEATRICE

A very even way, but no such friend.

BENEDICK

May a man do it?

BEATRICE

It is a man’s office, but not yours.

BENEDICK

I do love nothing in the world so well as you: is
not that strange?

UGH.  HOW AMAZING IS THAT?  Somehow, it’s just so much better than 3 little words without going on and on about it.  I do love nothing in the world so well as you. That Shakespeare, he’s no joke.

And just to be truthful with you, here are my new faves: movie – (this is always hard for me so I’ll go with my favorite I’ve seen this summer) Toy Story 3, song – (also hard to choose, but for now…) “Keep Breathing” by Ingrid Michaelson, boy – Jack Stafford, class – The Church’s Care for the Sick with Susan Dunlap, food – cinnamon schoolbook cookies from Trader Joe’s or strawberries, friend – (also a hard choice, but the excitement of having her near me again is not lost on me) Charlotte Savino, TV show – Glee, and fave book – Tomcat in Love.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • myjourneywithtruth: i had it in my office at my internship in Corpus Christi two summers ago. ellen davis is brilliant and glows with an aura of holy.
  • amy h: i love this quote. i think i may need it hanging on my wall where i'll see it daily. perhaps in front of the toilet? by the door? bedside table? i'll
  • chaz: That post made me really sad too. Mostly because I want to take young Lizzie by the shoulders and shake her (gently?) into sublime realization that sh

Categories

