my journey with truth

My Heart-2-Heart Diary: December 18, 1996

Posted on: August 15, 2010

my college roommate, Meg McCarthy, was visiting last week.  we wasted time between meals one afternoon by looking through my high school yearbooks and reading aloud from my diaries.  (i knew i was ok with the diary part because i’d read through a bunch of entries while cleaning my room for meg.  super productive, i know.)

so welcome to another part of my journey with truth.  it’s incredibly interesting, saddening, and hilarious to read through some of these.  my plan is to slowly make my way through the whole thing – here goes:

December 18, 1996                       (actually it’s Dec. 19)
Dear Diary,

I just got you today for my birthday.  My name is Lizzie.  I’ll tell you a secret.  I ❤ Blake Cash.  He is nice, but I don’t think he likes me.  I wish he liked me.  No one has ever liked me.  Christmas is in 1 week.  I can’t wait!  I have to get in bed.  It’s 12:20 A.M.  Write to you later.

Bye,
Lizzie

there’s something sweet about the way it’s written to someone, as though my diary will be uncomfortable with a stranger talking to it unless introduced and will be waiting anxiously for my next entry.  and then interesting that the immediate place i went next was SECRETS.  also, i’m not sure it was a secret that pretty much the whole 5th and 6th grade class liked Blake Cash.  he was one of about 7 guys everyone knew they were supposed to like.  then, the sad part.  although strange how one can flip from such frank honesty of feeling and low self-esteem to an informative statement.  i do like Christmas.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • myjourneywithtruth: i had it in my office at my internship in Corpus Christi two summers ago. ellen davis is brilliant and glows with an aura of holy.
  • amy h: i love this quote. i think i may need it hanging on my wall where i'll see it daily. perhaps in front of the toilet? by the door? bedside table? i'll
  • chaz: That post made me really sad too. Mostly because I want to take young Lizzie by the shoulders and shake her (gently?) into sublime realization that sh

Categories

